Schlangenbad

Schlangenbad

The district Schlangenbad is the main town of seven districts of the municipality Schlangenbad. Schlangenbad is at 320m n. NN and with its 940 (June 2012) habitants one of the smaller spa and health resorts in Germany, which makes it unique and picturesque. The spa is especially characterized by its gentle climate with significant cooling at night – similar to the mediterranean climate, which is the reason that the Aesculapian snake still exists in Schlangenbad. In former times the Aesculapian snake was common in whole Central Europe. Today they live only in warmer mediterranean regions. So Schlangenbad in Germany is unique for the existence of the Aesculapian snake which is also the symbol of the medicine and name giver for the town.

His fame as a spa Schlangenbad obtained after the discovery of thermal springs in the middle of the 17th Century and after the book publication “Bubbles from the fountain of Nassau (1830)” by the Englishman Francis Head, so that initially a visit of the spa was very popular among the British. After the French empress Eugénie de Montijo took a cure several times in Schlangenbad, the number of French spa guests temporarily increased enormously. Not only the English and French guests appreciated the peace and privacy in the past, but even the German nobility enjoyed to taking a cure in Schlangenbad. With the thermal open-air swimming pool built in 1931 Schlangenbad expanded its spa and bathing and starts his highlight as a spa, in which as from 1950 also were visited by private patients for the first time.

Today, nine thermal springs are tapped, the pebble-acid-rich thermal water with its temperature of 21 – 32 degrees is used especially for rheumatic diseases, skin diseases and nervous and circulatory problems. The Aesculapius spa in the green heart of the town with its fresh water of the thermal springs invites everyone to relax and dream. Due to central but quiet location close to the state capitals of Wiesbaden and Mainz Schlangenbad offers the ideal starting point for various activities.

Schlangenbad

Schlangenbad

Der Ortsteil Schlangenbad ist der Hauptortskern der insgesamt sieben Ortsteile der Gemeinde Schlangenbad. Schlangenbad liegt auf 320m Ü. NN und ist mit seinen 940 (Stand Juni 2012) Einwohnern einer der kleineren Kur- und Badeorte deutschlandweit, was ihn einzigartig und umso malerischer macht. Der Kurort ist insbesondere geprägt durch sein schonendes Klima mit deutlicher Abkühlung in der Nacht – vergleichbar dem mediterranen Klima, wodurch sich die Schlangenart Äskulapnatter in Schlangenbad halten konnte. Die Äskulapnatter war in früheren Zeiten in ganz Mitteleuropa verbreitet und lebt heute an sich nur noch in wärmeren mediterranen Regionen. Sodass Schlangenbad in Deutschland einzig für das Vorkommen der Äskulapnatter ist und der Ortsname durch jene Schlangenart, die auch Symbol der Medizin ist, geprägt wurde.

Seine Bekanntheit als Badekurort erlangte Schlangenbad nach der Entdeckung der Thermalquellen Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts, welche durch die Buchveröffentlichung „Bubbles from the brunnen of Nassau (1830)“ von dem Engländer Francis Head zunächst unter den Briten ein Besuch des Kurortes sehr beliebt machte. Nachdem die französische Kaiserin Eugénie de Montijo mehrmals in Schlangenbad kurte, stieg die Anzahl französischer Kurgäste zeitweilig enorm an. Die Ruhe und Ungestörtheit wurde dabei in der Vergangenheit nicht nur von englischen und französischen Gästen geschätzt, sondern sogar der deutsche Adel genoss es ungestört in Schlangenbad kuren zu können. Mit dem 1931 erbauten Thermalfreibad erweiterte Schlangenbad seinen Kur-und Badebetrieb und startet seine Hochzeit als Heilbad, indem ab 1950 auch erstmals Kassenpatienten zur Kur gingen.

Heute sind neun Thermalquellen erschlossen, dessen kiesel-säurereiches Thermalwasser mit seinen angenehmen 21 – 32 Grad insbesondere bei rheumatischen Erkrankungen, Hautkrankheiten sowie Nerven- und Kreislaufbeschwerden eingesetzt wird. Die Aeskulap Therme mitten im grünen Herzen des Ortes lädt mit seinem frischen Wasser der Thermalquellen jedermann zum Entspannen und Träumen ein. Durch die zentrale, aber dennoch ruhige Lage unweit der Landeshauptstädte Wiesbaden und Mainz bietet Schlangenbad den idealen Ausgangsort für verschiedenste Aktivitäten.